New Years Nails 14 / 15

Good evening lovelies,

did you really think I would leave you just like that without posting a New Years Nails post?
You’ve been wrong haha

Here I am and I am bringing you a real quick last minute New Years Eve nail design.

When I was shopping at my local TKmaxx recently I saw the fun O.P.I. Pure Lacquer Nail Apps. The design is perfect for New Year since the base is silver and it’s topped with cute little martini glasses that even contain olives! How fun!

I bought Shaken not Stirred

IMG_2175b

I am normally not a big fan of those nail strips since the always seem to come off easily and don’t apply very well in general.
BUT since these are basically real and very thin nail polish strips I definitely wanted to give them a try. A big Bonus was that they were on sale. The tag said that they were normally 16 euro and that the TKmaxx price was 7 euro, but I got them for only 3 euro! I didn’t think twice and bought them, already having today’s New Years Nails in mind.

In one pack you get 16 different sized nail strips, which are sealed in silver foil. The reason is that they are real polish strips. Not sealing would cause them to dry out fast, making them not-usable anymore. So, if you decide to use them make sure to actually use them up completely or use the rest of them shortly after.

IMG_2179b

Since I wanted to show you a quick manicure I decided on a full set of nail strips instead of only applying strips to the accent nail.

IMG_2182b

 

You can see that the strips are in different sizes to match several finger sizes. You chose which one you want to use for which finger and do one nail at a time.

IMG_2198b

Take the nail strip, peel off the plastic cover and then peel off the silver strip from the card-board. Gently pull it off in a downward motion.

IMG_2183b

Carefully place it near your cuticle area and press it on to the nails. Be careful that you don’t create any folds or bubbles. At the tip of your nail you should press it against the edge of the nail so you get a cleaner cut when you pull the rest of the strip off. Now take a fine nail file and file off the access.
Now continue with the rest of your nails and add a clear top coat if you like.

If you feel that the strips are way too big for your nails, you can also use small nail scissors and cut the to size before you start applying, meaning before you pull off the plastic cover.

Here is my finished result.

IMG_2191b

left hand

IMG_2201b

right hand

IMG_2203b

I think that these are a great alternative if you don’t have much time to do your nails or if you don’t have the skills and patience to do a detailed nail design.
It might take a bit of practice but it really isn’t that hard. I applied them for the first time and think I could have used a bigger strip for my pinky, especially since I misplaced it a bit to far to the right on my right hand.

 

IMG_2189b

Looking that the thumbs though, I think the strips had the perfect size for me (I used the 2nd big one).

IMG_2190b

 

I hope you liked this quick tutorial and review.

Happy New Year

I wish you a lot of fun tonight and hope you will have a great new year 2015!

 photo Mara2.jpg